"Step into our store and experience the warmth. SALE ON NOW - personal 1-1 service. My name is Debbie, I shall be the only one handling your precious inclusions. Scroll down to read some heartwarming customer reviews."

7 stages of grief - coping with loss

Here are the 7 stages of grief explained 

Grief is a natural response to loss. It’s a powerful emotion that can be overwhelming and difficult to understand. While everyone experiences grief differently, there are 7 stages of grief that are commonly recognized: shock and denial, pain and guilt, anger and bargaining, depression, the upward turn, reconstruction and working through, and acceptance and hope.

  1. Shock and denial: When we first experience a loss, it can be hard to believe that it’s really happened. We may feel numb, or in a state of shock, and try to deny that the loss has occurred. This is a normal and natural response to grief, and it helps us to cope with the overwhelming emotions we are feeling.

  2. Pain and guilt: As the reality of the loss sinks in, we may feel a deep sense of pain and sadness. It’s common to feel guilty, and to blame ourselves for things we may have done or not done. This is a normal part of the grieving process, and it’s important to allow ourselves to feel these emotions and not try to push them away.

  3. Anger and bargaining: As we come to terms with the loss, it’s common to feel angry and to want to blame someone or something for what has happened. We may try to bargain with ourselves or with a higher power, trying to make deals in an attempt to regain some control.

  4. Depression: The depression stage of grief can be intense and may involve feeling numb, disconnected, and withdrawn. It’s important to take care of ourselves during this time, and to seek support if needed.

  5. The upward turn: After going through the intense emotions of the previous stages, we may start to see a light at the end of the tunnel. This is the upward turn, where we start to see the possibility of a new normal and begin to move forward.

  6. Reconstruction and working through: In this stage, we start to rebuild our lives and find ways to incorporate the loss into our new normal. We may need to make adjustments and changes, and it’s important to be patient with ourselves as we work through this process.

  7. Acceptance and hope: In the final stage of grief, we come to accept the loss and find hope for the future. While we may never fully get over the loss, we can find ways to move forward and find meaning in our lives.

Dealing with grief can be difficult, but there are things we can do to help cope with the pain. Here are a few tips for coping with grief:

  • Allow yourself to feel your emotions: It’s important to allow yourself to feel the full range of emotions that come with grief, including sadness, anger, and guilt. It’s okay to cry and to feel overwhelmed.

  • Seek support: Grief can be a lonely experience, but it’s important to remember that you’re not alone. Seek support from family and friends, or consider joining a grief support group.

  • Take care of yourself: Grief can be physically and emotionally draining, so it’s important to take care of yourself. Eat well, exercise, and get plenty of rest.

  • Find ways to honor the person you’ve lost: There are many ways to remember and honor the person you’ve lost, whether it’s through creating a memorial, participating in a special activity, or sharing memories with others.

Grief is a natural and normal response to loss, and it’s important to give ourselves the time and space we need to work through the stages of grief. 

My warmest wishes 

Debbie at Sentimental keepsake xxx

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published